D4M Weekly Check-In (IV & V)

The project is in the final stages now… This Thursday,  The Lost Files is premiering at the Gateway Theater in Columbus, along with the other two pipeline projects that were chosen all those weeks ago.

Under the cut I’ll be sharing the animation and color work I did for Emma Pennington’s film.

The first scene I animated was scene 9, which you can see here.  I did the rough and inbetween work.

The second scene I roughed and inbetweened was scene 11. This scene has been cleaned and colored, but all the credit goes to character designer and fellow animator Anthony George and the very talented animator Katie Fuchs.

The third scene I worked on was animated by the ever-so-lovely Tara Nester, I only colored it.  However, I was in charge of creating the initial design and palette for the Lab Monitor, which I’m very excited about.  The palette was created in ToonBoom in a Cintiq Lab, so I’m not sure how to show it from my laptop.  HOWEVER, I did incorporate a lot from our story and character designer Sidney Lane.

And finally, I also did color work for the fourth scene in the film.  It was originally (and wonderfully) animated by Anthony.  It was interesting coloring sequential scenes by two different animators, mostly because of how startlingly similar their scenes were.  They did an excellent job of blending their own individual styles.

And that’s everything!  At least everything from the past two weeks.  It’s been a lot of fun and hard work, but I’m really proud of The Lost Files and I’m looking forward to seeing the finished piece this Thursday.
Also, I tried to be sure to give credit where credit is due, but it’s possible that I’ve missed something.  If anyone from TLF did work and didn’t see their name, please feel free to let me know.

About alexacarolina

Animation major studying at the Columbus College of Art and Design. Here I will post my work and research for my projects. View all posts by alexacarolina

One response to “D4M Weekly Check-In (IV & V)

Leave a Reply

