D4M Week Three Check-In

It’s about three weeks into this project now, and I’ve settled on which idea I’ll be continuing with.

Due to the relative ease and speed I can make the butterflies, they are the obvious choice.  It takes an average of 2.5 minutes to make one out of a 3″ square piece of paper.  Of course time varies depending on material and size.  A Reese’s Miniatures wrapper takes roughly a minute to fold, but a 16.5″ square of Reynolds Wrap Heavy Duty Aluminum Foil takes about 15 minutes to size, cut, and fold.

Origami Butterfly with nickel for size comparison

I’m very pleased with how some of this one turned out.  The aluminum foil is challenging.  The foil is difficult to fold when starting, and the edges are very flimsy.  It also tends to wrinkle easily when used.  By the end, though, the creases are second only to gift wrap.  I’m tempted to make the aluminum butterflies the largest of the group, due to just how well they’ve come out.  Of course they would be too distracting, so I’ll keep the 16″ butterfly as the largest and sprinkle in other sizes to keep it from being too dominating.

Gift Wrap Butterflies with nickel for size comparison

The gift wrap butterflies have also been really great.  My gift wrap has a black, white, and grey striped pattern, and when folded into butterflies, they make a beautiful geometric pattern.  It takes a little bit longer to make the gift wrap butterflies, 3.5-4 minutes per 4″ butterfly.  Because gift wrap is meant to keep folds and creases without wrinkling, the butterflies are very crisp looking, and unlike the aluminum foil, it does not have a crinkled appearance.  The gift wrap is limited, though, so I shouldn’t go much bigger than 8″ squares.  I don’t think that the paper could stay stiff at a larger size either.  It’s only a $0.50 tube after all, so you get what you pay for.

Reese's Miniatures wrapper Butterflies with nickel for size comparison

My boyfriend came home with some Reese’s miniatures this week, and I quickly reverted to my middle school habits:  eat a piece of candy, make a pretty butterfly.  These are probably my favorite just for the nostalgia factor.  The thin foil is easier to fold than the Reynolds Wrap, and the shine isn’t as demanding.  There is a size limitation, however, as I can’t find anything with this material at a larger size, nor can I cut them down without risking quality in the creases and material.  My hands may look dainty and ladylike, but they become massive meat mittens when I try to make too small of a butterfly.  Despite this alliterative handicap, I think I’m most skilled at this material because it’s the most familiar to me.  These butterflies are also the quickest to be made.  It takes only about a minute to a minute and a half for me to fold these.

Receipt and Notebook paper butterflies with a nickel for size comparison

And we have my old standby, the paper butterflies.  Notebook paper (the white butterflies) is probably the least ideal material I have in the group.  Due to the thickness of the paper, anything too small refuses to stay folded.  The butterflies start to lose definition and don’t look as neat and crisp as those of other materials.  Receipt paper (above in yellow) is a lot thinner, though, and keeps creases a lot easier than notebook paper.  Something I like about both materials is that because they’re scrap pieces of paper, there’s writing on them.  The folds make it difficult to make out, but it’s just something I’m rather fond of.  Notebook paper takes about 3.5 minutes to fold, and receipt paper only 3.

For the final week of this project I will be making more butterflies and creating a mobile for the finished piece.

About alexacarolina

Animation major studying at the Columbus College of Art and Design. Here I will post my work and research for my projects. View all posts by alexacarolina

Leave a Reply

